Monday July 22nd, 2024
Download the app

President Abdel Fattah El-Sisi Swears in New Egyptian Cabinet

As Egypt's government gets reshuffled, over 20 ministries see new leaders sworn in during the recent cabinet ceremony.

Cairo Scene

President Abdel Fattah El-Sisi Swears in New Egyptian Cabinet

Following President Abdel Fattah El-Sisi’s directive to form a new cabinet in early June, Egypt’s government has undergone a reshuffle affecting over 20 ministries. Today, 20 new ministers took their oaths, joining Prime Minister Mostafa Madbouly’s government. This marks the fourth  reshuffle since Madbouly’s appointment as Prime Minister in June 2018.

In addition to the new appointments, several ministers have been reinstated. Kamel Al-Wazir continues as the Minister of Transportation and has also been assigned the role of Minister of Trade and Industry. Khaled Abdelghaffar returns as the Minister of Health and Population. Rania Al-Mashat will lead the newly merged Ministry of International Cooperation, Planning, and Economic Development. Ashraf Sobhy remains the Minister of Youth and Sports, while Mohammed Ayman Ashour continues as the Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research. Hani Nabhan Swailem has been appointed as the Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation. Amr Talaat stays on as the Minister of Communications and Information Technology, and Yasmine Fouad continues as the Minister of Environment.

The new cabinet is as follows:

Adnan El-Fangari as Minister of Justice replacing Omar Marwan.

Ahmed Hannu as Minister of Culture replacing Nevine El-Kilany.

Ahmed Kouchouk as Minister of Finance replacing Mohamed Maait.

Badr Abdel Aati as Minister of Foreign Affairs, Emigration and Expatriate Affairs replacing  both Sameh Shoukry of Foreign Affairs and Soha Gendi of Emigration and Expatriate Affairs.

Hassan El-Khatib as Minister of Commerce and Investment replacing Ahmed Samir.

Karim Badawi as Minister of Petroleum and Mineral Resources replacing Tarek El-Molla.

Mahmoud Esmat as Minister of Electricity and Renewable Energy replacing Mohamed Shaker.

Mahmoud Fawzy as Minister of Parliamentary Affairs replacing Alaa El-Din Fouad.

Manal Mikhail as Minister of Local Development replacing Hisham Amna.

Mohammed Ibrahim Sheemy as Minister of Public Business Sector replacing Mahmoud Kamal Esmat.

Maya Morsy as Minister of Social Solidarity replacing Nevine El-Qabbag.

Mohamed Abdellatif as Minister of Education and Technical Education replacing Reda Hegazy.

Mohamed Gobran as Minister of Labour replacing Hassan Shehata.

Osama Al-Azhari as Minister of Religious Endowment replacing Mokhtar Gomaa.

Sameh El-Haey as Minister of Civil Aviation replacing Abbas Helmy.

Sherif El-Sherbiny as Minister of Housing, Utilities and Urban Communities replacing Assem El-Gazzar.

Sherif Farouk as Minister of Supply and Internal Trade replacing Ali Moselhi.

Sherif Fathy as Minister of Tourism and Antiquities replacing Ahmed Issa.

Alaa Farouk as Minister of Agriculture and Land Reclamation replacing El-Said Marzouq El-Qosair.

Major General Abdel Meguid Saqr as Minister of Defence replacing Mohamed Zaki.


Be the first to know


The SceneNow App